You're using an unsupported web browser. Some features may not work correctly. Please check out our list of supported browsers for the best experience. Dismiss

Star Trek Online

Season 6 Dev Blog #21

By PWE_BranFlakes | Mon 13 Aug 2012 12:00:14 PM PDT

Season 6 Foundry Updates

Star Trek Online STO MMORPG F2P Sc-Fi MMO game

Star Trek has always been about exploring strange new worlds, seeking out new lifeforms and new civilizations. One thing that makes this possible in STO is the Foundry – a tool that allows players to create their own worlds to explore or destroy. Hi, I'm Zero. You may remember me from such podcast interviews as Priority One and BroadcastUGC. I'm a producer on the STO team, specializing in ships, FX, and the Foundry.

Since the Foundry launched last year, more than 60,000 projects have been created. Now Season 6 brings with it an update to the Foundry that gives authors new options and new maps to use in their missions. When the Foundry first launched, the toolset was more limited. There were no triggers. No branching dialog. No way to customize the body and face scaling options for custom costumes. Since then we've added all of that. One of my favorite improvements is the ability to leave a Dilithium tip for an author.